EFTA states signed a free trade agreement with Peru on 24 June 2010 in Reykjavik, Iceland. Peru signed the agreement on 14 July 2010 in Lima, Peru. The agreement came into force on 1 July 2011 for Peru, Liechtenstein and Switzerland, 1 October 2011 for Iceland and 1 July 2012 for Norway. The U.S.-Peru Free Trade Agreement (PTPA) came into force on February 1, 2009. The PTPA removes tariffs and removes barriers to U.S. services, provides a safe and predictable legal framework for investors, and strengthens the protection of intellectual property, workers and the environment. The PTPA was the first existing agreement that contained innovative environmental and workers` rights provisions introduced as part of the multi-party trade policy agreement developed by congressional leaders on 10 May 2007. On the night of June 27, 2006, the Peruvian Congress debated the agreement for six hours and ratified it in the early hours of the next day. The vote was held by 79 votes in and 14 against and 7 abstentions.

[9] The U.S. House of Representatives approved the agreement on November 8, 2007 by 285-132 votes. [10] [11] On December 4, 2007, the U.S. Senate approved the agreement by 77 votes to 18. [12] [13] The transposition laws received broad support from the Republican Party (176-16 in the House of Representatives, 47-1 in the Senate) and divided the support of the Democratic Party (109-116 and 29-17). If you have any questions or comments on this free trade agreement or on environmental and labour cooperation agreements, we would like to hear from you. Please contact World Affairs Canada at: The Peruvian Trade Promotion Agreement (PETPA, sometimes referred to as the Peru Free Trade Agreement) came into effect on February 1, 2009. Currently, the vast majority of Peruvian products arrive in the United States duty-free and free of charge and will almost all arrive in the United States free of charge until the full implementation of the agreement in 2025. Consult the Canadian tariff specialist to review customs information for the Peruvian market under the Canada-Peru Free Trade Agreement (CPFTA) and other foreign markets with which Canada has a free trade agreement.